Barungwa – The Messengers released in 1995 by Bowers & Wilkins. Barungwa take you on an unpredictable course through acid jazz, traditional marimba and mbira melodies…This is a challenging and liberating music from artists who ain’t afraid to aim beyond the horizon, beyond the dancefloor, to lead rather than follow.”

Messengers was a brilliant success and the band’s international tour in 1996 included a show at the Durban Jazz Festival and the Africa 2000 dates in London. The band dispersed in 1998 with all members carrying on their musical journeys as leaders of their own groups.

Founded in 1995 after the first Outernational Meltdown ’94 gathering of local and international musicians @ Downtown Studios in Joburg. Barungwa became the first Anglo/South African Acid Jazz group and toured both SA and Europe.

  • Moses Taiwa Molelekwa – piano
  • Andrew Missinham – drums
  • Shaluza Max Mntambo – vocal
  • Dave Mxolise Mayekana – guitar & vocals
  • Chris Bowden – sax, flute

Buy This Awesome Released!